Daily Archives: December 14, 2010

Fail ?

I actually have something to write about 🙂

I was on the school website looking for something, and came across something completely unrelated; the school dance policy.
Most of it is pretty reasonable, but I have a few things to say about some.


4. All students will be required to leave their coats in the coat check provided, as there is not access to the rest of the school and school lockers during a school dance. All areas beyond the cafeteria and foyer are out of bounds.

I think I’ll pass on this one. I’d much rather leave my coat on the folded over caf benches if we’re at school. If, say, we’re at semi, I’ll just leave my coat on the back of a chair instead of standing in a massive line for an hour trying to get it back.

5. School rules and provincial laws regarding tobacco, alcohol and drugs will be strictly enforced and a police officer and vice-principal will be on-site to enforce these rules. Students suspected of consuming alcohol and/or drugs prior to, or at, a school dance will be sent home and further appropriate discipline will follow.

Students are reminded to dance appropriately (no ‘grinding’ please) and that the school dress code is also in effect. It is our intention to provide a safe environment for students to enjoy themselves without the pressure and complications of substance abuse and negative peer pressure.

Seriously? Do all the teachers just keep their eyes shut & pretend not to smell the people who reek of alcohol & weed at semi? Or does this just take effect for the people who are literally passing out on the dance floor because they’re too intoxicated / show up with nothing on at all.

6. Students must be prepared to leave the premises at the conclusion of the dance. Arrangements for transportation home should be clearly established before coming to the dance.

Honestly, this just makes me wonder how many people have hung around for the sake of having nothing better to do.

My point: the school sucks at enforcing rules.

Forcing Myself to do Something

Dear stress, it’s been a while. But I gotta say, I didn’t miss you much.

I’ve finally figured it out: when I’m stressed I refuse to do anything productive. It’s like I go from running around crazily & typing at 500 words a minute, to absolutely – nothing.

And what happens when I force myself to do whatever it is I’m supposed to be doing, it turns into a bit of a disaster. Even writing now, usually I don’t have any problem at all coming up with things to say, but it’s taken me about 4 minutes to come up with all this.

Stuff that’s caused me to shut down:
Co-op stuff
Media studies project
Editing / going through billions of pictures for everyone
My media assignment – if I can even hand that in still
Being sick
After school stuff, ie. dance, auditions, choir stuff, ect.
Cleaning
And of course my mom being on my back about getting everything done.

I did have a brief break on Sunday, to go Christmas shopping, and go back to the place where my dad died to drop off poinsettias. If you read one of my previous posts, I mentioned that he died on the 21st of December 2008, so this time of year kinda sucks to begin with.

Anyway, I don’t really know what the point of this was, other then just me forcing myself to do something other then watching tv & playing games. But that’s pretty much it.

Toodles ♥