Doug Fischer Memorial Park

Saturday (June 11th) was the official opening for the new baseball diamonds in New Dundee. As mentioned in the title, it was named Doug Fischer Memorial Park. For those of you who don’t know who this is, Doug is my dad, who passed away in December 2008.

Being at the opening felt a lot like a reunion of some sort, being hugged by people I hardly remember, and running around saying hi to those who I recognized. I guess this goes to show just how much sense of community there really is in this small little town I call home.

Here’s a little back story: My dad was a baseball player for most of his life until his vision was taken away by cancer, and since he couldn’t play, he then coached others.
“for years Doug fought to have new ball diamonds built in New Dundee. He was very passionate about it and never missed an opportunity to promote his vision. A few months after Doug passed away, there was a funding opportunity available from various government levels for “shovel-ready” projects. An application was submitted to build two new ball diamonds and to upgrade the park where the former diamonds were. The application was approved late in June 2009; we found out about it just days before we buried Doug.”

So on Saturday at one point during the opening, they had both my grandpa and myself throw the “opening pitch”. Well, let’s just say that it’s been a while since I’ve even held a baseball, and when I played baseball, I never pitched. And while my aim was a bit off, my grandpa threw the ball after me, and definalty made up for my lack of aim and impressiveness.

So in all, I’m very proud to have been a part of this event with my family & friends. I just wish my dad could have been around to see it all come together. ♥

And on that note, here are some pictures

The Sign

Speaches

The Sign

Getting ready to throw the opening pitches

My "pitch"

Grandpa's pitch

My family

Donation names

Committee people, and me

My mom & I by the sign

May many memorable games be played here.

Posted on June 13, 2011, in My Life. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Kim i’m so happy for all of you ❤ i'm so glad that this happened ❤ i mean i'm sitting here bawling my eyes out and kinda wishing i could hug you so i'll send virtual hugs *hugs*
    I love you

Leave a Reply

